I can read a rainbow

This week was Mollie’s last week at nursery for this school year.

I used my last hours of free time wisely and productively.

Inspired by Shelley Harris’ colour co-ordinated books, I decided to organise mine into a rainbow. I got this far…

And then a coffee break showed me that it wasn’t really working. My books are shelved under the stairs in the hallway. As you come in to the hall you see them gradually from the left side of the bookshelves. You couldn’t get the full joy of the rainbow.

So I tried again.

It still needs a bit of tweaking. But It’s looking gorgeous.

I learnt a lot while turning my bookshelves into a rainbow. I learnt that sequins really do get everywhere in my house.

I learnt that shelves that have been designed and built to fit my books don’t lend themselves to this level of messing about.

At one point all my pink books were by lesbian authors. I quite liked that.

I learnt that turquoise is a tricky colour.

Brown was also an issue.

At one point I was quite tempted to go out and buy some yellow books to even up the balance a bit.

I learnt that I am more anal than I thought. And that I have a lot of books. But the biggest surprise was how well I know my books. Initially I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to find a book if I messed with them but it turns out that I know my books pretty well. I know what colour a book is and how creased the spine is and how faded it has become and where in the rainbow it is likely to sit.

I learnt that I appreciate my kindle and the flexibility it gives me but that I really love my books. Even more so now that I have given them a bit of love and they look so beautiful.

Next week… Mollie’s library!

Leave a Reply

